{Jane By Design} Tutu or Not to Tutu

I’ve been watching Jane By Design and I still can’t decide if Jane’s outfits (overall) are inspired or awful. It’s easy to pin down Gray’s style (minimalist & chic) and India’s (skanky club attire), but Jane’s style is quirky. She mixes lots of brights and fabrics, wears funky shoes and most of all, she loves herself a tutu.

"Girl, why is this tutu being strangled with a leather belt?" PHOTO: ABC Family

I’m not one to suggest tutus are a no-no. But there’s only been two episodes and I’ve seen four tutus. That’s a lot of tulle, girl.

PHOTO: ABC Family

In her defense, she’s worn those tutus like it was her job.

PHOTO: ABC Family.com

They do help keep her style whimsical and age-appropriate. But are they high-fashion enough for her office? Are they couture enough to be worn down the runway (as her pink dress was in this week’s episode)?

PHOTO: ABC Family

You tell me. To tutu or not to tutu? Would you try this trend? I think that’s kind of the point: Jane’s style is all her own and no one in high school walks the halls in military jackets and tutus, except for her…and me. I love crazy pieces. Give me a wild print, leather pants, Clueless-style hat and I’m in heaven. (Not worn together though. Relax. I’m not trying to look Helena Bonham Carter status)

But here’s thing: I’ve got a tulle gray maxi skirt in my closet and it’s going to get some major play. World, you can thank Jane for that.

1 Comment

Filed under Fashion Smashion, Let's Ponder

One response to “{Jane By Design} Tutu or Not to Tutu

  1. Pingback: {Jane By Design} To Tutu or Not to Tutu Part Deux « The Remote Generation

Leave a Reply

