WTH Happened to The Lying Game?

Sometimes there are shows that seem like sucks-ville from the get-go. Then there are shows that seem totally legit and become lame. Months ago, The Lying Game premiered on ABC Family and I was all for it. What fun! Twins! Secrets! Mystery! But that was then.

"How the hell should I know what happened? My outfit's cute though, right?" Photo: ABC Family

Here’s the sad truth: I can’t even remember the last time I watched an episode of The Lying Game. They lost me when Emma continued being Sutton and the storyline went nowhere with the exception of some love triangles or rectangles or rhombuses.  Whatever.

Maybe you’re still watching, and if so, I applaud you. That’s dedication. But I just can’t. Part of it is that Monday nights are filled with so many good shows from so many genres on so many channels. But the truth is that I want more from my teen drama-mysteries. It’s not enough to have relationship drama and family secrets or cute boys and enviable wardrobes. Because all teen shows have that. You’ve got to make it worth watching.

"Shows are supposed to keep people entertained? What?" Photo: ABC Family

It would appear I’m not the only one who thinks so either; The Lying Game‘s ratings continue to dwindle — from 1.2 million on October 3 to barely 1.1 million viewers on October 10 — despite ABC Family renewing the show [via]. Heck, even ABC Family seems bored with The Lying Game! Yesterday I saw a tweet about Sutton’s wide-leg trousers and the current poll on their website is “Which twin would you have the most fun pretending to be?” Talk about a yawn.

I wasn't kidding! A tweet about the "style story" for what is perhaps the ugliest outfit on the show all season! Photo: ABC Family

A reader told me, that in the books, it turns out Sutton is dead the entire time Emma is pretending to be her. I really wish ABC Family followed the books instead of changing it up. It would make the show so much more interesting! With only one episode left in the fall season, I’m wondering if there’s anything that can be done to turn this show around or if it’s doomed to join the ranks of Chloe King.

What about you? Are you still watching The Lying Game? Losing interest or still loving it? Share in the comments!

3 Comments

Filed under Let's Ponder, Stats

3 responses to “WTH Happened to The Lying Game?

  1. I was going to send you a picture of those wide-leg trousers and ask you do a WTH are they wearing for it. You could probably do an entire post on Sutton/Emma’s outfits. Like how Sutton fashioned a really cute dress out of nothing on Monday’s episode. I love when shows and movies do ridiculous montages of girls pricking their fingers as they somehow create cute outfits from thin air. It makes no sense!

    Anyways I’m still slightly into The Lying Game because I love sketchy Adrian Pasdar.

  2. Katie

    I still watch it but it’s not as good as I hoped it would be when the show first started. Maybe they could kill off Sutton’s annoying friends? Or Sutton? Basically it would be better if the show was just about Emma.

Leave a Reply

