Ringer vs. The Lying Game

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

This week the CW premiered Sarah Michelle Gellar’s new show Ringer. Did anyone else think, “Wow, this is exactly like The Lying Game, only not as good”? Well, anyone other than me?

"Can you tell that the plot is convoluted by the way I'm stroking this mirror?" Photo: Joy Hog

I really wanted to like Buffy’s new show, but with the poor production value and crazy story I found myself struggling to stay with it for the entire hour.

In case you don’t know, Ringer follows sisters Bridget and Siobhan who’ve been at odds for years. Bridget is a former stripper and recovering alcoholic (because they really needed to make her seem like trouble. Could they have added former prostitute and heroine addict to her resume too?) She’s in a safe house as the only witness to a murder, but she gets scared, attacks a cop and runs away. So with the cops and the mob after her, Bridget turns to her dear sister.

"I'm so scared! That I'll be killed or found out! Or worse...You'll stop watching!" Photo: Pop Tower

Unfortunately when she wakes up, it looks like Siobhan’s taken the big sleep. So naturally Bridget assumes her sister’s identity, learns all her dirty little secrets and eventually is attacked and nearly murdered. But surprise! [Spoiler Alert] Siobhan is still alive! And in Paris. Or at least a set that’s meant to resemble Paris, but not so much that they could do without the caption that reads “Paris.”

This plot might have interested me if The Lying Game didn’t already exist with a sister on the run from the law, assuming the identity of her twin and learning her dirty little secrets whilst the twin is in an exotic locale — L.A. is exotic to some, ok? — taking care of her own crazy business.

Reflective surfaces are a life saver for networks and their twin show promos! Photo: Modoration

So the question is which show is better? Personally, I prefer The Lying Game. It’s made better, the acting is better (I never thought I’d type that) and Emma is very likeable, which means I actually care about her. And for me, seeing teens do dumb things — like switching identities with their twins — seems less farfetched than grown 30-something women switching places. Plus, couldn’t Bridget have just went on the stand, stayed in police custody and been fine? Why did she attack the cop? And why is her sister running to Paris?

Maybe the real problem is I don’t really care what happens to Bridget or why Siobhan’s doing what she’s doing. Everyone seems happier without her. Or should I say, the new her? (Except for the fact that they keeping telling “Siobhan” she looks anorexic. Is this because of the rough life Bridget had as a stripper/alcoholic?)

Gotta love the whole "mirror image" double entendre! Photo: The CW

Maybe Siobhan can just play dead in a green screen Paris and live a happy life stroking mirrors and sitting seductively on couches while I watch The Lying Game? Gosh, there hasn’t been this much twin drama on TV since Sister, Sister!

What do you think? Did you catch Ringer? Do you like Ringer better than The Lying Game? Tell me in the comments!

11 Comments

Filed under Let's Ponder

11 responses to “Ringer vs. The Lying Game

  1. Emma

    Ringer was so bad! I’m giving up before episode 2

    • Rachel

      u cant base a show on its pilot episode because its a pilot for a reason some times they switch actors, get more funding etc…but i recommend Ringer its my newest guilty pleasure because it has you rooting for bridget
      it gets better after she gets rid of that body…so go watch the next two episodes and then give up if u dont like the show after episode 3!!

  2. I saw this review on a separate entertainment blog. I am totally for people having their own opinion on things, that’s what makes the world go round, of course. Love those discussions. But this review only came off as being incredibly condescending, and it did nothing but illustrate your absolute disdain for Ringer, and apparently Sarah Michelle Gellar. It’s very hard to take “reviews” like this seriously.

    • Ally Hickson

      Sorry you feel that way, but posts like this aren’t advertised as reviews for a reason. They’re really here to start discussion. These were my thoughts. I would love to hear your thoughts on the show! P.S. I love Sarah Michelle Gellar…just not on Ringer.

  3. Katie

    I really think lying game is better now. i agree, i totally love emma. but im going to give ringer another episode. maybe it will get better.

  4. Kate

    You are totally right about the poor production value over at “Ringer”. In the pilot, when the twins are on the boat, they seem to actually be on water somewhere. But when they go to close-ups, I couldn’t get over how fake the “ocean” backdrop looked. It reminded me of some kitchy ’60’s Doris Day movie. Not sure that was really what they were going for. And the scene pictured above, when they stood in front of that mirror, was just so “we’re trying so very hard to be artsy, don’t we have brilliant DP’s (directors of photography)?” I just wanted wanted to reach out and slap them for that shot. I only watched the first ep of “The Lying Game”, as I wanted to be supportive of Alexandra Chando. But after watching “Ringer”, I realize what a gem it was. I’m going back.

  5. Nice review! This is truly the type of post that should be shared around the web. Shame on the Google for not ranking this article higher!

  6. Nice post. I learn one thing tougher on totally different blogs everyday. It will at all times be stimulating to read content material from other writers and practice a little something from their store. I’d choose to make use of some with the content on my weblog whether you don’t mind. Natually I’ll give you a hyperlink on your web blog. Thanks for sharing.

  7. Oh my goodness! an amazing article dude. Thank you Nevertheless I am experiencing situation with ur rss . Don’t know why Unable to subscribe to it. Is there anybody getting equivalent rss problem? Anyone who knows kindly respond. Thnkx

  8. Rachel

    i like both shows but the main actress in the lying game cant pull off the bitchy act of sutton, her acting isnt very good when it comes to being a rich spoiled bitch…i lost interest in the show because it wasnt very intense and it seemed to drag along….Ringer on the other hand has constant drama and suspense, bridget has to keep up the facade for her “husband” her “lover” her “stepdaughter” and more, i personally love shows for action and romance and i dont see much of the romance in the lying game and there are rare scenes of action/suspense in it as well…. Ringer actually has you rooting for bridget/andrew or bridrew as the fans have come up with….in a vote between the two id say
    RINGER is better

  9. Lindi

    I saw episodes of Ringer before I saw The Lying Game.. And my personal choice is Ringer. I struggle to relate to the younger crowd in TLG. And I am a big fan of SMG. I suppose it depends wich one you watched first. The second one will always feel like.the remake.. I stkill watch both though.

Leave a Reply

